DIY Dishwasher Detergent

Over the last few years the acronym DIY (or Do It Yourself) has been floating around the internet. When I first saw it, I got annoyed at it – kinda dorky word! But then Abigail, Sarah and I realized that it’s no different from what we’ve always done – work with what you have and make up little projects or crafts or food dishes or cleaning supplies or – well the list goes on – and my mind runs blank. 🙂 There are too many things that we’ve done to list them all.

So to celebrate my continuation of creatively finding solutions for little everyday problems, I’m making a blog post about it! And maybe we’ll do more blog posts about our own version of DIY.

Ok, so the problem was we just ran out of dish detergent tabs and kind of need to run the dishwasher – we use a lot of dishes in one day, people! And since I’ve been curious about making my own dish detergent for a while now, I decided to look one up. I found a couple that looked pretty similar. (First one I found was on Tipnut and the second, which is the one I used, was on DIY Natural)

diy-dishwasher-detergent-2

DIY Dishwasher Detergent

  • 1 cup Borax
  • 1 cup Baking Soda
  • 1/2 cup Citric Acid
  • 1/2 cut Salt
  • 3-4 drops essential oil (optional)

Mix it all up, making sure to evenly spread the essential oil. I used lavender, but you could use lemon, orange, eucalyptus, tea tree, lemongrass essential oil.

Use about 1 tablespoon per load, or more if desired.

 

 

 

This stuff is sooo white! It’s all powdery and clean smelling – until I added lavender, and then it smelt all pretty!

wp_20170301_14_45_05_pro

An added bonus for me was using up a few things we have in the cabinet. Like this stuff – we found the regular salt in the back of the cabinet – does salt go bad? What little I tasted of it just tasted like regular salt. But since I didn’t want to use it in cooking, this was the perfect thing! 🙂 And I used up the sour salt – or citric acid. Don’t really use sour salt for anything else.

WP_20170301_14_47_21_Pro.jpg

Then I put it into my handy dandy jar, and there you go! And of course, always use the Collaborator – that’s the word we girls use for a big funnel – don’t ask why!

WP_20170301_14_54_06_Pro.jpg

Just ran the load with it – looks pretty good to me! Nice and clean!

Has anyone else tried a homemade dishwasher detergent before?

What did you think of the results?

~Hannah~

One thought on “DIY Dishwasher Detergent

Leave a Reply

