Friday Featured Favorites: Designs by Diane

The shop I’ll be featuring today, DianesDesignsbyDiane, I discovered through the Etsy forums. What especially struck me was the happy, nice personality of the lady that runs it, Diane. I thought: “Wow, she must have a fun shop!” and I was right.

il_570xn-190572430

And similarly, when I saw her shop, I found the personality inviting, charming and open.

As you can see with the fun picture on the left, her cards have a simplistic, amusing style that’s totally unique.

Diane’s career in art started when she drew a picture for a friend’s birthday. It was so popular, her friend got about 40 orders! (I think that’s a great way to start a business)

Diane’s work is shown in art shows and she used to own a shop. Sadly, her shop was destroyed in an earthquake.

Diane heard about Etsy through an artsy niece, and opened her shop in 2010, though didn’t keep it up until recently when she was laid off from her regular job. She admits the situation is a little scary, but with the support of her husband and Lord willing, she thinks a door will be opening soon. Even while I was talking with her, she made her first sale since reopening!

il_570xn-1132268380_ks92It goes without saying that I loved looking around at her shop. What struck me just now, when I was looking for some of the pictures to feature, was that there seems to be endless possibility to what Diane could do, since she’s making the cards completely from scratch!

She has several cute little angels, as well as animals, like the owls to the left.

Many of the cards are blank, or can have a small message, making it very customizable!

Besides the wonderful cards, Diane has several dolls that look amazingly like her illustrations. Here’s a Link to one of my favorites.

il_570xn-1132236480_n70e

This picture to the left is totally my favorite so far!!!

I loved checking out this shop, as I’m sure you will too!

Here’s a link to her Etsy shop, DianesDesignsbyDiane

And a link to her Blog, here on WordPress.

If you want to see more shops we feature here on occasional Fridays (hopefully a little more often than we’ve done recently) just follow our blog!

Hope everyone has a great Friday and weekend!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

