Monkey Bread and Dinosaurs!

I was reminded this year of how strange life is. You’d think I’d remember that sooner!

img_2130

We have lots of wonderful Christmas movies to watch (starting tomorrow evening!) but there just doesn’t seem to be enough Thanksgiving movies!

Someday, I’ll put together a list of good Thanksgiving movies. If anyone has suggestions, please share!

However, I remembered recently the movies we have watched close to Thanksgiving, and definitely not always related to Thanksgiving.

One movie we thought up that seemed a little related to Thanksgiving was You Can’t Take it With You. Somehow, being directed by the same guy that did It’s a Wonderful Life seems fitting for this holiday.

img_2049

It’s a very good movie, and probably very good for Thanksgiving, and I’d recommend it to you.

For a seemingly totally-not-Thanksgiving movie, last year we watched Jurassic World the day before Thanksgiving. I enjoyed it more than I expected, and having monkey bread to work on was a good excuse for looking away if it got too bloody 🙂

I decided to look up Thanksgiving Movies on Bing – after all, there’s a list for everything – and was reminded that Spider-Man (2002) featured an uncomfortable Thanksgiving dinner, so maybe we’ll watch that this year 🙂

Putting movies aside, there are various things I remember doing around or on Thanksgiving Day. Several years ago we delivered some monkey break to our friends at nighttime. There’s nothing quite like driving at nighttime when it’s cold outside!

Of course, nothing can beat waking up to the smell of smoking turkey (he tried to quite cold-chicken, but it didn’t work) and for some reason working on the dishes after dinner has become a favorite in recent years. A couple years ago Abigail and Hannah were writing madly and abandoned me to work on all the dishes. It was surprisingly fun! (no, this is not a guilt trip, sisters!) And then, of course, there’s the tradition of trying to clean the bar for extra room.

img_2008Last year we went for a walk after dinner and met at our park. It was extremely cold and Annie (on the left) was really happy. She laid down and we buried her in leaves and we had a panting, happy pile of leaves!

A few things I plan on doing tomorrow is:

walk. I really enjoyed it last year and look forward to it this year.

I will not munch beforehand. I think I’m going to challenge myself not to eat anything, unless I need to test it (which really is necessary!)

I will be happy. Of course, just saying you’re going to be happy, and plastering a smile to your face, doesn’t work, but I will remember to breathe and not worry.

This month has gotten a little out of hand, and really crazy, and it seems like there are a lot of things we have to deal with. But maybe that makes it an even better time for Thanksgiving, when we can remember what we have and that, in the end, everything will be OK.

So, let me wish you an early Happy Thanksgiving. May you have a wonderful day, full of happiness, new traditions or oddities and peace.

Hope you have a great holiday weekend,

Sarah

P.S. please share your interesting stories! I heard about a lady that married on Thanksgiving so she wouldn’t have to cook the big dinner. It didn’t really work. Do you have any of your own stories?

Leave a Reply

