Burlap and Autumn

I just realized I haven’t done a blog post about my latest listing! So, here I am to show you the first of my Autumn items.

IMG_1509  I was just about to get some different Autumn fabric, which I wasn’t really sure about. Then I caught site of some interesting burlap, with Autumnal happiness written all over it:

Autumn, Harvest, Fall Time, Give Thanks” as well as leaves and sunflowers.

I decided there was no better time to explore the craze of burlap than fall-time.

I was pretty sure of what I wanted to make out of the burlap – either pillows, unusual wreaths, table runners, bags or even banners. I decided to go with pillows. I almost went with square accenting pillows, since the pattern is definitely square. Then I decided it would be fun and different to do round pillows.

IMG_1514So, I found some nice contrasting brown fabric and cut out three Autumnal pillows.

I have to admit,  I really like the way they turned out. They’re kind of elegant. (and, unfortunately, the photos don’t do them justice! I just couldn’t quite get the angle right)

So, I pulled out a little of our fall décor – scarecrows and some ribbon – and took some photos. The pillows really seemed to pull it together. It added a bit of proper, furniture-ish decoration, which apparently we lack.

This is only my first Autumnal item for my shop. I thought I’d have tons of golden leaves and fat pumpkins running around in various forms, but I’m not sure that will happen. However, coming up for my shop: a skirt, a possible front door banner thingy and an Autumnal looking bag!

For the time being, here is my Burlap Autumn Pillow!  I invite you to take a look.

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

